Generation One, Chapter Four

Screenshot-817

It was a typical day. I woke up and got ready for the day, made breakfast, shared dreams with Thorn at the table, everything was going as it usually did. How I loved it.

Screenshot-819

Thorn was so amazing. He did everything he could to help me out.

Screenshot-823

It wasn’t until that day that I had realized how big i was getting! My stomach had grown soo much bigger, the baby was sure to be due anytime.

 

Screenshot-829

Thorn loved talking to the baby. “How’s my little guy doing in there?” He”d say. “Thorn honey, we don’t even know what the  gender of the baby is yet!” “No, it’s a boy. I can feel it”

Screenshot-830

The sun went down and Thorn and I turned in for the night. Or so we thought.

I awoke to sharp pains in my stomach and instantly knew it could only mean one thing. I had to be in labor.

Screenshot-832

I couldn’t help but cry out, which woke Thorn up. “I’m..ughhh…in…ahhhh….labor!”

 

Screenshot-831

 

He wasn’t quite…prepared for this news to say the least. “How?! You weren’t due for another..what’s today again? Oh no! What are we going to do?! I’m not ready!”

Screenshot-833

It was the worst pain I had ever experienced in my life..

Screenshot-839

But it was so worth it.

Screenshot-841

After a while, I gave birth to the second love of my life. We named her Emerald.

Screenshot-842

Emerald Ivy looked exactly like her father.

Screenshot-847

He was so infatuated with her, it was so beautiful.

Screenshot-850

We had made her together. Emerald was our creation.

Screenshot-852

My life was perfect. I couldn’t have asked for any better.

Screenshot-854

I loved Emerald’s nursery. Especially the rocking chair inside. I loved rocking her to sleep in it, talking to her. I couldn’t believe I was a mother. The feeling was surreal.

Screenshot-858

After her birth, I started getting back into painting. I had an easel out on our balcony, and it gave me such a view while I painted. It was great inspiration.

Screenshot-859

Like I knew he’d be, Thorn was a great father. He adored Emerald so much, I could see it in his eyes every single time he looked at her.

Screenshot-864

 

 

A few months later I found myself back in front of a toilet spilling my guts, literally,

Screenshot-868

I was getting much better at painting now, as it was a great stress reliever. Thorn was so amazing. If Emerald was crying, I’d start stressing and Thorn  would say “I’ll figure this out, don’t worry about it. Whatever it it I can handle it. Why don’t you go get some fresh air?”

Screenshot-870

He was just so good with her. I was almost afraid she’d grow up loving him more than me.

Screenshot-876

But whenever I felt her warmth in my arms, knowing she was my living breathing masterpiece, I fall in love all over again and know that it will be alright.

Screenshot-877

 

Screenshot-883

About two years had passed and Emerald was getting so much bigger! She looked exactly like Thorn. In fact, I don’t think anyone would be able to tell that I’m her mother unless I show them her birth certificate.

Screenshot-884

She definitely preferred Thorn over me. Whenever he held her she giggled and smiled. When I went to hold her, she screamed and cried.

Screenshot-885 Screenshot-886

Thorn was so protective over her. We still haven’t even taken her out into the town. “Too many creeps” according to him.

Screenshot-890

I decided I’d better start taking some initiative in our bonding. I started teaching Emerald to walk.

Screenshot-891

She was a very quick learner. It didn’t take long at all.

Screenshot-893

She was finally beginning to look at me the way she did her father.

Screenshot-896 Screenshot-897

It seems as if she can now trust me, to catch her when she’s falling.

Screenshot-899

I began to experience pride for the first time, in something other than my paintings.

Screenshot-900

 

She was my most beautiful creation.

Screenshot-904

Later, I had noticed that my clothes were fitting way too tight. I thought it could’ve just been weight gain from Emerald’s birth, but then I remembered the vomiting, and back aches. There was no doubting it, I was pregnant again.

Screenshot-906

I also taught Emerald to talk.

Screenshot-907

She was the first person I announced my pregnancy to, and she seemed to completely understand.

Screenshot-909

I decided after a while it was time to tell Thorn.

Screenshot-912

I knew he’d be ecstatic. He was so good with Emerald.

Screenshot-915

Emerald would know what it’s like to be a big sister, I found this so fascinating. I never had any siblings.

Screenshot-918

My paintings were getting so much better, I decided I wanted to start hanging some of them.

Screenshot-920

I placed the first to hang in Emerald’s nursery.

Screenshot-922 Screenshot-924

Thorn loved reading Emerald to sleep. He read to her of colors and shapes, I hoped she’d learn to love art too.

Screenshot-926

As I painted at night, I loved to look out at the stars. They mezmerized me in a way I couldn’t explain. I needed to learn to paint the night sky sometime.

Screenshot-929

It seemed like all that was left to do for Emerald was potty train her. She seemed to take to this very well, as she did everything else.

Screenshot-935

She still seemed to mostly look up to Thorn though. Maybe this next baby would be different.

Screenshot-936

I would spend more time with this one.

Screenshot-937

 

I remembered I hadn’t seen my friend Saturday in a while. I called her up and asked her to meet me in town.

 

Screenshot-939

 

There I told her all about Emerald and how I was expecting again.

Screenshot-941

“I can’t wait to meet them” she said.

 

Screenshot-943

When I returned home however, some sharp pains hit my stomach and I knew just what that meant.

Screenshot-945

This baby was coming right now.

Screenshot-947

Thorn reacted per the norm.

Screenshot-949

And with that, I gave birth to my second girl, Jade Ivy.

Screenshot-950

 

She looked just like her father as well.

Screenshot-955

But I knew the drill, I wasn’t letting this one become distant from me as well.

Screenshot-956

Leave a comment